Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Cheesy Chicken Lasagna December 28, 2011

Filed under: Main Dish Recipe — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 2:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

This was our dinner last night, and really good! Brandon is off all week, so I have more time to experiment with new recipes! He is definitely my picky eater, and he had two plates. I originally found this on realmomkitchen.com, and made a few changes…I added parmesan cheese, and instead of chicken we actually used leftover turkey, and you couldn’t even tell a difference. Let me know what you think!

Cheesy Chicken Lasagna

  • 2 (12 ounce) cans of evaporated milk (not fat-free)
  • 1 (1 ounce) package of dry Ranch Dressing Mix
  • 3 cups of cubed chicken, cooked
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 (8 ounces) package of lasagna noodles
  • 1 1/2-2 cups grated Cheddar cheese
  • 1 1/2-2 cups grated Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1/2 grated Parmesan Cheese

Directions:

  1. Cook the noodles according to the package, and rinse with cold water to prevent sticking. Set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, combine milk and Ranch Dressing Mix in a large saucepan. Heat over low, and stir constantly until dry mix is dissolved. Stir in chicken and pepper. Simmer, uncovered, about 25 minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. In a well buttered 9×13 dish, layer as follows: half of lasagna noodles, half of chicken and milk mixtures, half of the cheeses, then repeat.
  4. Bake 35-45 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven. Let dish rest about 10 minutes before cutting.

 

2 Responses to “Cheesy Chicken Lasagna”

  1. Sounds delicious. I too have a discerning adult eater here. He does see all food as fuel so even if he is not crazy about something I make he will generally eat it..except for most vegetables, which I hardly even discuss with him anymore 🙂 Given that this is veggie free he might like it. I’ll just load up on the sides for the rest of us:)

    Given that I am Irish and never even heard of Ranch dressing until I moved to the States 12 years ago, I still do not eat it or even think to use it. Do you have any particular Ranch dressing mix that you recommend?

    • I hope you like it..this was definitely easy, and everyone enjoyed it. I’m also from Irish descent, just a little farther back in our family tree:) Hidden Valley has the best Ranch dressing mix in my opinnon. They have the little one ounce packets that are maybe one dollar? It definitely adds a lot of flavor to the dish!
      Let me know how it turns out!


Leave a Reply

