Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Away from home..and dogs. December 30, 2011

Filed under: Staying Home with the Kids — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 4:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

Day 2 away from home. It seems like every week, I think how great it would be to have some alone time, and peace and quiet..then it comes, and I think it’s too quiet, and I’m bored. Until Sunday, I have the pleasure of keeping two Dobermans and two horses. Brandon’s mom is keeping the kids..who I miss!! It’s a little too much work to have both of them here, plus take care of the dogs, and the horses.

Being here with these guys, makes me realize how lucky I am to have been raised around animals…dogs especially. I love being in this house because of how safe I feel. With the 220 pounds the dogs are combined, I know no one is getting through that door unwelcome! Ever since I was little, we’ve always had bigger dogs..mastiffs, and labs. I wanted to make sure that Paige wasn’t scared of dogs from day one.

We got our dog, Tank-an American Bulldog, in March of this year. I was a little skeptical at first about how he would be around her. I did my research, and found out that the bulldogs were one of the best family dogs. Once they grew out of their puppy stage, they were very protective to the people they are used to. This has definitely proven to be true. There isn’t a thing Paige can do to that dog that bothers him. She can crawl on top of him, bite his ear, eat his food..I’ve never seen him get mad. Although he drives me crazy 75% of the time, we are definitely blessed to have him.

Besides being wonderful with children..his other good quality is that his name fits him perfectly. He is literally a tank. In the last year, he hs broken his leg, eaten poison and ran head first into the wall (leaving a nice hole). Nothing phases him. He can also eat anything, including shoes, plastic toys, and raw chicken. The chicken wasn’t my fault. It was in the middle of the counter, and to this day, I don’t know how he got to it. At the end of the day, when I see Paige and Tank laying in the floor watching Finding Nemo, I know we picked the right dog! I just hope that Colt will take a liking to him as much as she has.

 

 

2 Responses to “Away from home..and dogs.”

  1. upwardliving Says:

    Nice. Entertaining !

  2. Alyssa Lape Says:

    Really wonderful info can be found on website.


Leave a Reply

