Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Top Five Ways to Enjoy Your Morning December 30, 2011

Filed under: How to's — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 9:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The mornings are always a tough time for us. Everyone needs to eat, laundry has to be done, dishes need to be washed. The to-do list is endless, and can be overwhelming. I started thinking of my favorite things to do in the morning, that make my day better, and here are my top 5:

  1. Put things away the night before: I realize this is more of a night time thing to do..but if I pick up all of the toys, and half way put things in their home before bed, I wake up and have less things to do. Therefor, I feel less rushed and stressed out walking out of the bedroom.
  2. Add some light: Opening the curtains, or on a warmer day, opening the doors and windows instantly brightens my day…literally. I’m not sure if it’s the fresh air, sunshine, or a combination of the two, but I instantly feel refreshed.
  3. Savor your cup of coffee:  It’s so easy to rush through that first wonderful cup of coffee. Especially when I have so much to do. I found that if I wait until my chores are done, or until I have a minute to sit uninterrupted (which seems impossible, I know!) I can enjoy that sweet cup of goodness!
  4. Find time for a workout: With two kids under the age of two, it sometimes seems impossible to find time for a workout. But studies have shown that working produces hormones that make you happier. I use this site: www.bodyrock.tv for my workouts. Not only is it free..but majority of the workouts are less than 20 minutes. I know everyone has at least that to spare. If you find that the kids just won’t go down for a nap, or won’t let you have that much time..include them in your workout!
  5. Laugh: I know that sounds strange..but laughter is truly the best medicine. Play with your kids, go outside, or enjoy tickle time! Having a good laugh always makes you feel better.

What do you do to get through your morning?

 

 

13 Responses to “Top Five Ways to Enjoy Your Morning”

  1. "M" is for Marriage and Motherhood... And for Me Says:

    Nice post!

  2. Emma White Says:

    Good plan there!! I need to tidy before bedtime and workout more, you have an adorable family!! Xx

  3. Yor Ryeter Says:

    I say a prayer 🙂

  4. emperorp Says:

    Glad you liked my post this morning 🙂

    This post made me smile because I was just thinking about how I was doing so great savoring my morning cup of tea…until this morning. I had a peaceful couple of hours planning for the coming week and writing my blog before the kids got up. I didn’t fit in time for my quiet cup of tea. Must do that.

    I feel a little frazzled and it’s only midday. Lots of competing needs and requests from my four since 7:30 this morning. About to put the two youngest down for a nap and then I’ll have that cup of tea as I play a card game with my older ones.

    Nice to get 5 minutes as everyone potters about to read your post. Thanks for stopping by my blog and hitting Like so that I could come over here and find you 🙂

    Happy New Year and best wishes with your little crew.

  5. Taking the time to enjoy my cup of coffee is super important!!! My almost 4 year old gets up early so I have time to sit on the couch and cuddle with him while drinking a cup or two or three. Great post 🙂

  6. All great ideas – I’ll definitely have to check out that website because a 20 min workout is one I might have a chance to fit into my day! 🙂

  7. pamiejane Says:

    I try and get my workout done before anyone else is awake. Then I come home, make tea and relax for a few minutes. It does mean getting up at 4am – just as well I am a morning person.

    • That’s a great idea. At this point with two young kids, I have to stay at home to workout..plus the closest gym is thirty minutes. I love having a few minutes to myself in the morning though, even if it means getting up early! Thanks for reading!

  8. I like to have my coffee with icecream in it:) I have three little ones under the age of 5. I love all your suggestions…

    • What kind of ice cream and coffee do you use?? That sounds
      Iike a nice change! Hats off to you for three little ones:) I really want one more, but we may wait a little while longer. If we stay with the same time frame that would be 3 under the age of three haha…maybe not! Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

