Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Meatloaf with Special Sauce January 4, 2012

Filed under: Main Dish Recipe — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 11:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, everyone makes meatloaf, and it usually all tastes the same. I found this recipe in a cookbook from a local church group, and decided to try it, since I had all the ingredients in the pantry. To my surprise,  it turned out to be the best meatloaf recipe I’ve had. And it was definitely a hit with Paige and Brandon. Meatloaf is on the menu at least 3 times a month! You can also substitute the ground beef for deer meat in this recipe, and it still is wonderful.

Meatloaf with Special Sauce

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup bread crumb
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2/3 cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp. mustard
  • 4 tbsp. brown sugar ( more or less to your liking)

Directions:

  1. Mix together all but the last three ingredients. Transfer to an 8×8 baking dish.
  2. Mix together ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar. Spread half  on top of the meatloaf.
  3. Bake the meatloaf in a 350 degree preheated oven for one hour. Drain if needed.
  4. Top with the remaining sauce, and serve.

Wonderful with mashed potatoes!

 

10 Responses to “Meatloaf with Special Sauce”

  1. Okay, you’ve inspired me. I had a pound of ground beef defrosted to make chili for dinner tonight. I have been dragging a little this afternoon so my usual productivity when the boys are napping is way down. My husband James doesn’t like chili and, while he usually can think of most food as fuel, it doesn’t work with chili. I love chili and wanted to make it today but now don’t feel like making a second meal for James too. In less than 20 minutes I had this prepared and it’s in the oven now.

    Although I’ve lived in the States for 12 years I’ve never made meatloaf. I’ve eaten some great meatloaf and some not so great meatloaf and didn’t want to waste my time and my meat on an untried recipe from a book. So it’s an adventure for dinner tonight! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

    • If you have a chili recipe, I would love it! Our family really likes chili, but its yet another thing that kind of all tastes the same to me. My idea of cooking it is using ground beef and one of the chili starter cans:) but…on a happier note, I have a great cornbread recipe!
      I hope your meatloaf turns out okay! Let me know if you have any suggestions for it.

  2. Ish Says:

    I’m a sucker for a good meatloaf… will have to give this one a try! 🙂

  3. James liked it 🙂 I liked it too but would like to work on it. The special sauce was a little sweet for me, would want to reduce that sweetness next time. I’d also like to play around with adding herbs to the meat. If I do anything with it I’ll be sure to follow up here.

    Btw, I served it with mashed yams and sweet potatoes and James ate it with pasta. He said he’d eaten meatloaf before with mashed potatoes and preferred the pasta. I tried not to let my national pride be wounded. Honest, he is an Irish man 😦

    • I’m glad you both liked it! I guess my favorite part was the fact that I didn’t have to make a run for the store to make it, so your probably right about the herbs. For years I’ve gone out of cookbooks, and just recently discovered the world of blogging. It’s definitely helped my cooking to know people have tested the recipes!

      • My baking and cooking have improved alot from reading other people’s blogs too. It is often so much better than a untested recipe.

        I do have a couple of recipe books that I love and anything I make out of them turns out delicious. Rare in cookbooks to be able to use many recipes out of one book…and I have two!

        I also loved the fact that I could just make this recipe without running out to the shop for ingredients. I’m going to try adding some of the herbs I always keep on hand and see how it goes. I keep Italian seasoning, basil and rosemary on hand all the time. I’ve actually been meaning to add to that list, better add some to my shopping list now before I forget 🙂

        Enjoy your Thursday with the little ones.

  4. Oh, forgot to mention that I loved how soft it turned out. It was deliciously moist!

  5. marissaberg Says:

    Can’t wait to try it!

  6. […] made my first meatloaf this week using the recipe from Ashley over at Peaches and Pumpkin. It was very tasty (though I’d add some herbs next time). I made too much for us to eat […]


Leave a Reply

