Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

The Wonderful Timing of Children January 9, 2012

Filed under: Staying Home with the Kids — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 9:37 am
Tags: , , ,

Recently, we’ve moved Colt into his crib. For the first few months, he slept in a cradle next to our bed. Doing this has made me discover one of the more humorous sides of being a parent…the wonderful timing of children.

Colt woke up around 3am for his usual feeding, got a new diaper, and quickly went back to sleep. I can usually fit all of that is a thirty to forty minute time frame. Very tired, I slid back into bed, got comfortable and closed my eyes…to sound of Paige crying.  This isn’t unusual. Recently she’s been getting up in the middle of the night from the loss of her pacifier. So, I lay her back down with her beloved passy..and return to my comfortable spot in bed. After once again closing my eyes..I hear Paige crying, again. I can’t help but laugh at this point. It’s as if children know the most inconvenient moments to do anything.

These moments include…but are not limited to: crying screaming as soon as the grocery cart is full at the store, pooping in the tub (not on the potty before the bath), getting syrup all over their hands only when mine are full and then rubbing their head, being silent all day until I have to make an important phone call..the list is endless.

As inconvenient as these events sound, they’ve actually become quite funny to me. It’s inevitable that things like this will happen..so I just enjoy them. Just funny little stories I can share with them one day when they’re older. I also learn new things about my kids everyday..for example: pooping can’t wait. Regardless if it’s in the tub.

 

15 Responses to “The Wonderful Timing of Children”

  1. Pamela Says:

    I know the feeling; not with two yet, but of the quirky stuff that happens with kids. Especially about poop in the tub. I think I wrote one of my grossest posts ever on that one. Hope you get some sleep soon!

    • Thank you for the support! And for reading:) some nights are better than others, but I think the sleep deprivation is something you get used to haha. I hope you have a wonderful week!

      • At least you laughed 😉 I’ve so had nights like that. Thankfully, it’s gotten easier now that my youngest is a little over one. Sleep deprivation is something I think you get used to. Although, when you get a good streak of sleep it makes it that much harder when you have a bad night. I hope you get some sleep soon!

  2. muddledmom Says:

    Yep. I remember it all! Still waiting for the one about the phone calls to end. My kids have impeccable timing. Every time I pick up the phone…

  3. SO TRUE! They also love to wake up super early on the days that you went to bed really late. They are so funny like that. 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness, they do have impecable timing don’t they?

  5. One thing sticks out in my head from this post….the poop in the bathtub. I have been blessed (*knock on wood*) that our girl has not yet done this!!! To all those tired nights, the smiles and laughs for sure make it all worth it! =)

    • I’m glad you haven’t gotten to experience this..and as a mom you probably know this isn’t the grossest thing I’ve seen haha. Thank you for reading:) I know pretty soon both kids will be all grown up, and I will miss all these funny stories.

  6. Ish Says:

    I’m not looking forward to the sleep deprivation part, but I’m hoping I can steal some of your humor to deal with it! 🙂

  7. "M" is for Marriage and Motherhood... And for Me Says:

    What about when handling raw meat? I have experienced the sticky situation of my toddler getting the syrup while I am handling raw chicken. Great post 🙂

  8. Ahh, yes … pooping in the tub has happened quite often at our house too.


Leave a Reply

