Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Campbell’s Easy Beef Enchiladas January 10, 2012

Filed under: Favorite Recipes,Main Dish Recipe — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 9:15 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

If you haven’t noticed already, I’m not very adventurous when it comes to cooking. I love trying new recipes..but not at my wallet’s expense. I love pantry meals, or things I can switch up the ingredients with things I already have. We usually have a lot of ground deer meat here, and I like to substitute that for ground beef. This enchilada recipe has become one of our favorites. The best thing is.. you can really put whatever you want in this..and it will still turn out good. I will put the original recipe, and tell you at the bottom some changes I’ve made:) Enjoy!

From Campbell’s Kitchen

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 (1 ounce) packet of taco seasoning mix or burrito seasoning mix
  • 1 (16 ounce) can refried beans
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can Campbell’s Condensed Cheddar Cheese Soup
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup long grain white rice, cooked
  • 12 flour tortillas (10 inch)
  • 1 1/2 cups prepared enchilada sauce
  • shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Brown the ground beef, and drain off any fat. Stir in seasoning mix, beans, soup, onion and rice (optional).
  2. Spread a little of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of a 3 quart baking dish to keep from sticking. Divide the beef mixture among the tortillas. Roll up the tortillas and place, seam side down, in baking dish. Pour remaining enchilada sauce over tortillas and sprinkle with cheese.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes or until bubbly.

Now.. like I said, you can really put whatever you want in these..and they’re still awesome. I’ve used ground deer meat. Last week I didn’t have any taco seasoning..so I used salsa instead, and put in a little hot sauce (one of my favorites yet). I have also substituted the cheddar cheese soup with velveeta cheese. I found out if you cover the tortillas completely with the enchilada sauce, they won’t get crunchy..which can sometimes happen in the oven. You can just play around with the recipe to suit your tastes..Let me know what you do to yours!

 

4 Responses to “Campbell’s Easy Beef Enchiladas”

  1. Ish Says:

    I’m a sucker for enchiladas, but I usually make everything from scratch – these look like a nice quick substitute. 🙂

  2. These sound delicious! Thanks for the recipe….I’ll keep this one handy!

  3. Alec Eibell Says:

    I am continually browsing online for tips that can help me. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

