Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Turtle Cheesecake January 16, 2012

Filed under: Deserts — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 9:32 am
Tags: , , , ,

Hey everyone! I know I haven’t posted in a while.. but I had a little spare time this weekend to try out a few new recipes. I’ve never been a baker. Somehow or another I always screw up somewhere. In this one.. I completely ignored the type of pan I was supposed to use. I almost had a disaster in the oven, but I caught it at the last-minute, and it turned out amazing! Brandon loved it, and I will definitely be making this again. I originally found this recipe at www.blogchef.net.

Turtle Cheesecake

  • 1 3/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate graham cracker crumbs, crushed
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 3 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (14 ounce) can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 tbsp. lime juice
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tbsp. chocolate syrup
  • 2 tbsp. caramel sundae sauce
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Grease a springform pan. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.Combine chocolate graham cracker crumbs and melted butter. Press mixture into the bottom of the springform pan, and 1 inch up the sides.
  2. In a large bowl, beat softened cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Add sugar, eggs, lime juice, and vanilla extract. Beat together until fully mixed, and smooth.
  3. Microwave 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips in 10 second intervals until melted. Add two cups of cream cheese mixture into chocolate chips, and stir to combine.
  4. Spoon batters alternatively into graham cracker crust. Start with the cream cheese mixture, then then chocoalte chip mixture, then end with the cream cheese mixture.
  5. Bake for one hour and fifteen minutes, or until cheese cake is done. The center will move slightly when done. Cool completely. Once cooled, top with chocolate syrup, carmel syrup, chocolate chips, and chopped pecans.

Like I said above, I totally ignored the part about the springform pan, which is a two peice pan that is about two to three inches deep. The sides of the pan can be removed, as well as the bottom if needed. The baker that I am, thought cheesecake..pie plate. It went well until I added the batter into the crust, and realized I had way to much..then I googled springform pan. Anyways, I quickly figured out that much batter in my little pie plate wouldn’t work, so I had to remove some, and continue baking. It still turned out wonderful, just wanted to share my mishap so none of you do the same! Let me know what you think:)

 

5 Responses to “Turtle Cheesecake”

  1. Mmm, looks yummy. Cheesecake and caramel sauce are what got me 🙂

  2. Oh my I cannot wait to make this! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Mmmm … looks delicious! 🙂

  4. I have just 1 word. Yum.


Leave a Reply

