Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Balance January 17, 2012

Filed under: Staying Home with the Kids — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 5:10 pm
Tags: , ,

One of the most important things I’ve learned as a mother, and apparently still working on, is how to balance things. Everyday, it seems like my to-do list is endless, and continuously growing. Dishes keep coming, clothes keep getting dirtier, the dog repeatedly needs to go to the bathroom…it’s almost unnerving, and never-ending. For some reason lately, my OCD (obsessive cleaning disorder in my case), has come on full force. I can’t stand to have any dishes in the sink, clothes on the floor, toys out of the toy-basket, blankets unfolded, or spots on the counter. Everything in my house has a “home” as I like to call it, and I have to make sure everything is put back where it goes.

So..I find things getting out of balance. I can’t enjoy time with my family because I’m too worried about something needing to be done. Thinking about the dishes alone makes me anxious, and almost nervous. But why? Why can’t I just accept the fact that there will ALWAYS be dirty dishes, and laundry, and toys to pick up?

I guess it doesn’t make things any easier, having Brandon, who doesn’t care anything about the house being clean..as long as he has food on the table, he’s happy. So of course, upon walking through the door, I can count on boots in the middle of the kitchen, two socks on the couch, followed by a shirt..and then at least two drinking glasses. Along with Brandon, I have two children under the age of 2. Paige, is a walking tornado. Everything she touches ends up on the floor. But oddly enough, I can already see that she will get the clean genes. She stole my broom yesterday, and started sweeping her changing table. Colt on the other hand, is 4 months old…he has an excuse.

I finally had to put a stop to things yesterday, when I went behind Paige 4 times, and put her toys back in her toy box…only to see her walk back over there, and throw each one over her shoulder onto the floor. I need to get back to maintaining balance in our day. Cleaning at certain times, and playing at certain times. Unfortunately this is easier said than done. I need to work on it.

 

 

15 Responses to “Balance”

  1. peachypains Says:

    Best of luck to you!! I always keep in my mind that I’d rather be spending time with my family than doing the cleanliness IE I’d rather have the memories of playing than that of dishes!! Keep us posted on how you do!! We’re all rooting for you.

    PS – Paige looks adorable with a broom!

  2. muddledmom Says:

    Organized piles, that’s cleanliness to me. When my son was 2, anyone who came to our house was greeted by about a dozen bags lined up in the entryway, each containing various Mega Bloks and whatever else had occupied my toddler at the time. That’s just the way it was. If I bothered to remove them, he just did it again. If I left them there, he moved on to something else. Evidently, he likes organized piles too.

  3. We sing the barney clean up clean up everybody every where song. And it helps 🙂 Well with the daughter cleaning up it does lol

  4. Pamela Says:

    That is sooo hard; something I really have an ongoing struggle with myself. I built in specific times during the day that I would not allow myself to get distracted by the house to spend time with my little one and I find that helps. Right now, we’ve all been home for a long weekend, and we’ve all been sick, which means the house disaster has escalated and I’m left picking up the pieces over the course of the week…so ugh, I hear you!

    • That’s exactly what I think I’ll have to do, and thank you for the suggestion! Just put a few times per day to cleaning, rather than clean every time there is a mess. Thanks for reading:) I hope everyone feels better!

  5. Stephenie Says:

    OH my. I remember when I used to do that. I was cleaning up things my girls were still playing with. I would just put one thing away and they would get out 3 more. I thought I would lose it! Finally I figured out that what worked best for everyone’s sanity was to just wait until the end of the day and clean it up once. Phew.

  6. I know what you mean, you are not alone! Managing a house is really hard. More difficult than I ever imagined. I can’t seem to keep up these days either, by the end of the day I’m so physically tired and mentally drained I put off all my chores until the next day. Then I just get irritated because the house is always messy! I’ve started to add pieces of furniture to each of our common rooms so toys have a place to go. I cannot stand having toys all over the place. It’s working well so far, we’ll see if it continues!

  7. tori Says:

    I’m the same exact way. Especially with the toys. I pick them up right after kalia dumps them out and as soon as I start picking them up and putting them away she’s right beside me taking them out. I’ve learned that this is the way I am and that’s ok. But…there are days where I get out of hand and have to remind myself I can’t be perfect or things can’t be perfect. I totally know what u mean about not being able to spend time with my family bc of it. So I compromise…I always do the dishes always and wipe down the counters but of all the days we’ve lived here I’ve let myself not pick up anything off the ground for two days total. I got up the next morning and reminded myself I had plenty of time to clean. Its good to do that every now and then bc sometimes cleaning gets on my nerves but I can’t help it most days. I try and look at what’s more important spending time with my family or cleaning. So compromise with yourself sometimes… do what u have to do and leave the rest for tomorrow. Trust me nothing bad is going to happen if u don’t. Its refreshing sometimes. Great post! It helps that I’m not alone on this!

    • Your right, tori. I keep telling myself now that cleaning is so etching that is always going to to be there, and I’ll keep having to do. On the other hand, my family wants to spend time with e, and I didn’t want every memory of me to be picking something up or washing dishes. I laughed to myself just now thinking of when colt and kylee get old enough to start messing up toys too haha! We will really be in trouble:) thanks for reading!

  8. I truly find this a interesting subject. Never looked at this subject in this manner. If you are planning to create more articles relating to this subject, I definitely will be back in the near future!


Leave a Reply

