Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Dramatizing: verb 1. Part of Being a Mom January 25, 2012

Filed under: Staying Home with the Kids — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 4:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

You may be wondering about the title of my post. No, that’s not literally what dramatizing means..it really is to express or represent vividly, emotionally, or strikingly.

While reading “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” for the fourth time today, I noticed everything I do with Paige is a production. I always use my hands…to show how big something is, or use different voices, to emphasise different characters. She gets really into stories now, which makes it more fun. But I quickly realized that stories aren’t the only time I’m acting during the day now. Potty training for example.. anything to do with the potty has to be overly exciting (which we all know it’s not) just to get her excited about it. Clapping hands, dancing, cheering..anything along these lines works. Feeding the dog on the other hand, has to be very bad, with an angry voice, and a pointed finger..to help her understand not to do this.  She gets bored during the day, we dance, sing, and chase around the dog. Any adult looking at me during the day would probably pick me as a lunatic. On the contrary: I’m entertaining my daughter!

Just from “acting” around her..she has learned different emotions. During Finding Nemo, another one of her favorites, she will shout,” OH NO!” during a dramatic part, or get excited when the mood is lightened. I’m beginning to realize everything that I do, she is learning from. It’s really exciting. What I teach her, she will carry with her, and teach Colt, and teach her children.

What funny things to you do to teach your children, or keep them entertained?

 

 

5 Responses to “Dramatizing: verb 1. Part of Being a Mom”

  1. My daughter does yoga with me. Its hilarious. We paint our toes together. And after a run she sits and stretches with me. I love the copy mommy stage:)

  2. emperorp Says:

    Oh yes, we are entertainers 🙂 I really like this post. The difference between being an entertainer and a lunatic is a fine line and very much depends on whether you are a participant or an observer of the show.

    I sing to my children all the time. When my girls were little we sang for everything…even passing salt at the table. As they grew, their first exposure to TV was The Sound of Music, Mary Poppins, Sesame Street and Bear in the Big Blue House. I used to wonder if they thought all the world was a musical.

    Now I sing with the boys and it’s a little different. I still sing to them a lot but their world is larger because of their older sisters so they know that not everyone, everywhere sings. All. The. Time. 🙂

    It was lovely to think about this. Very nice post.

  3. ON top of being a mom for years I’ve also taught preschool.Overdramatizing things becomes a total way of life!


Leave a Reply

