Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Homemade Baby Wipes February 13, 2012

Filed under: Homeade,How to's — Peaches and Pumpkins @ 10:38 am
Tags: , ,

Homemade wipes! Paige is almost to her second birthday..I don’t know why I am just discovering this. It’s the biggest money saver I’ve come across, especially with two kids in diapers. Here’s what you need:

2 cups water
2 tbsp. baby soap
1 tbsp. baby oil or olive oil
Paper towel roll
Something to hold the wipes: I saved a Huggies baby wipes container.

20120213-103420.jpg

I know there are several ways to do this. The first has you cut the paper towel roll in half with a sharp knife. Which kind of paper towel you use is a personal preference thing really. I’ve read good things about the bounty rolls, so that’s what I chose. Once cut in half, remove the careboard center. As you can see…my knife sucks. Mix soap, oil and water in a circular container large enough to hold the entire roll, and seal shut. Place one of the paper towels rolls into the container, and close the lid. Allow it to soak for a few minutes, then flip the container over. Thats it! You have a second roll available whenever you need to make more.

The other way I did personally. I only have a dollar store in my town, and couldn’t find a container that would hold the wipes. So I used an empty baby wipes box. I cut the paper towel roll in half, tore each sheet off one roll and folded them. After about half of the roll, I had a stack that fit perfectly into the wipes box. I mixed together the soap, oil, and water, and poured it over the paper towels in the box. After soaking a few minutes, I flipped it over and let it sit a a few more.

20120213-103819.jpg

What do you do to save money?

 

 

19 Responses to “Homemade Baby Wipes”

  1. Becci Says:

    Wow – that is a fabulous idea! Thanks 🙂

  2. bellissimom Says:

    I have been checking out different “recipes” for homemade wipes. I plan on trying out this one! I also am thinking of doing some with washable cloth to be reused but we will see how long that plan lasts!

  3. misskeith017 Says:

    Oh my God that’s BRILLIANT! I am so totally going to do this from now on!! Thank you so much =D

  4. Emma White Says:

    That is Genius!! xx

  5. Anna Mc. Says:

    Hey Ashley, it’s Anna!

    I decided to start a blog myself, and just thought I’d stop in and say hi!

    Keep up the good work, your blog looks amazing! I hope mine gets as much attention as yours..i have like 2 followers, 1 being myself HAHA

    Anyways, I’ll catch you later!

  6. jessicabirthdoula Says:

    Thanks for the great instructions- the wipes solution I always used had apricot oil (I used the burt’s bee’s) instead of olive oil. I’ll have to try this if he have another little 🙂

  7. brookeb4 Says:

    This is fantastic! Do they stay damp as long as store bought wipes?

    • It seems like they do! I have two kids in diapers, so we go through a box of wipes pretty fast. I’ve read some people keep a bottle of solution handy, and wet their home made wipes as needed! Thanks for reading:)

      • brookeb4 Says:

        Fantastic! Thank you. I have one on the way, and when she gets here it will be 10 years since I did this last!! Looking to do things a lot more eco-friendly and pocketbook friendly this time around.

      • Congratulations on your soon to be newest addition! This is definitely pocketbook friendly, and there are so many ways you could do it. If only I can make homemade diapers, we’d be in business:) thanks for reading!

  8. mrmomman Says:

    This is amazing! I didn’t even know you could make your own baby wipes.

    • Neither did I! Until I saw a fellow blogger post about her homemade baby wipes. I was amazed to see how much money we have saved just doing this. Now if I could make homemade diapers, I would be set:) thanks for reading.

  9. Sierra Says:

    This is such a wonderful idea! I’m definitely going to try this once my baby is born. Thank you!

  10. allikap Says:

    Interesting! I am 30 weeks along right now, and just started thinking about alternatives to babywipes to save money. I am planning on cloth diapering, so I was considering cloth, but I love this alternative too!


Leave a Reply

