Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Chocolate Elvis Smoothie February 27, 2012


Castor Oil…just typing it makes me gag. And yes, I am one of those pregnant women who was so desperate to give birth, I drank castor oil. With both children. And it worked for me..although I know some aren’t as lucky. The second time around, I thought things would be better if I mixed it with a strawberry and banana smoothie. NO, all that did was make me sick, and forever scar me from delicious strawberry banana smoothies.

I recently started using Naturade’s Weight Gain powder. Since I’m still breastfeeding Colt, that alone can burn up to 500 calories per day. Not to mention the hours I spend chasing around the other maniac:) Keeping weight on lately has definitely been a challenge, and I’ve found myself getting into an unhealthy size for my height. The weight gainer I’ve started using is basically just protein and calories, and nothing in it is harmful for Colt. Many people have just told me to start eating more..but this isn’t really working for me. I eat three large meals per day, and always snack in between. I just needed a good way to add calories to my diet.

So, everyday, I’ve been making my favorite smoothie: a Chocolate Elvis, and adding a few scoops of protein powder. This drink is a knock-off version that Planet Smoothie serves. Every part of it I love: bananas, peanut butter, and chocolate! This recipe makes about 22 ounces of drink, which is around 550 calories. Once I add some protein powder, it goes up to about 1100 calories, which is perfect! I tried adding the powder to a strawberry banana smoothie… but if you read the paragraph above, I’m sure you can guess how much I liked that one.

So for those of you interested: here is the recipe!

Chocolate Elvis Smoothie

  • 12 ice cubes
  • 1-2 spoonfuls of vanilla yogurt (or ice cream)
  • 2/3 cup of milk
  • 3 tbsp. chocolate syrup
  • 2 spoonfuls of peanut butter
  • 1 banana, peeled and sliced

Mix ingredients together in a blender until smooth. You can add or decrease things as you like, and it is still wonderful!

What kind of smoothies do you like?

 

11 Responses to “Chocolate Elvis Smoothie”

  1. Sierra Says:

    That sounds like a delicious idea!! I’m now 17 weeks pregnant but am still having trouble gaining weight and started off at what they say was under weight and so they have been wanting me to gain all along. Is protein powder ok to use while pregnant? I’m assuming that since you’re using it while breastfeeding it would be?

    • Yes, I’m sure this would be fine to take while pregnant. I would ask your doctor just to be safe though. Have you had a lot of morning sickness? I know that can be the cause of not gaining sometimes during early pregnancy. By congratulations! Let me know if you like the recipe, and thanks for reading:)

  2. ngroudas Says:

    Good for you for trying to keep the weight on in a healthy way! Being in the third trimester I’m having no trouble putting the weight on but when I was younger and lifting weights a lot I used to use protein powder to help up the healthy calories in some meals – you can even make high protein pancakes with protein powder (i’m a bit of a breakfast person) 🙂

  3. bellissimom Says:

    I wish weight gain was something I needed to work on because this sounds so good!

    • Thank you for reading! I know there are some ways to modify this into a healthier version…switching the milk, yogurt, and chocolate syrup to a low or no-fat kind I know would make a huge difference! Let me know if you make it, and how it turns out!

  4. Explore. Dream. Bake. Says:

    Looks like a very yummy smoothie! What kind of chocolate syrup do you use?

    My favorite smoothies lately are green monsters. I put in a bunch of spinach and basically any kind of fruit on hand.
    The other day I made one with pear, apple, banana, spinach, yogurt and almond milk with a scoop of plain whey protein and ground flax.

    • I will definitely have to try a green monster, I have never had anything like that.
      I am using the Walmart brand of chocolate syrup right now, just because it was cheaper! And since that tastes good, I’m sure any kind would! Thanks for reading:) and for the smoothie suggestion!

  5. oh that sounds so yummy!

  6. This sounds delicious! Chocolate, peanut butter, and banana are a great combo for just about anything. I’ve been known to make peanut butter, banana, and nutella sandwiches. 🙂


Leave a Reply

