Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Chicken Fried Steak April 17, 2012


After making this recipe for the second time last night..I couldn’t wait to share! I’m always on the look out for great beef recipes. With a lot of hunters in our family, and a freezer full of deer meet; I usually substitute ground beef, or beef cube steak with deer meat. You can’t tell the difference.

Anyway, I think the secret to this recipe is really the buttermilk. It makes a huge difference. It’s rare that I buy something just for one recipe, so I was on a search yesterday for other recipes that included buttermilk. This morning we had buttermilk pancakes, and tonight we will have homemade chili and cornbread! I will post these recipes later, because they are just as good!

Chicken Fried Steak

originally from allrecipes.com

  • 4 (1/2 pound) cube steaks (beef or deer)
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce ( i.e. Tabasco)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups of vegetable shortening, for deep-frying

Directions:

  1. Place flour in a shallow bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together baking powder, baking soda, black pepper and salt. Stir in buttermilk, egg, hot pepper sauce, and garlic.
  2. Heat shortening in a deep cast iron skillet to 350 degrees. Dredge steaks in flour, dip in buttermilk mixture, then dredge again in flour. Fry the steaks in the skillet until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes per side. Remove any extra grease by placing on a plate lined with paper towels.

A few things: I didn’t use nearly two cups of flour..and ended up wasting a lot! So I would cut that down, and add more if needed. The recipe also included instructions for a home-made pan gravy. I did this the first time I made this recipe, and it was a disaster! So, I didn’t feel right including it here. Instead, I used vegetable oil to fry my steaks, then cheated and used a package country gravy mix instead:)

Pair this with mashed potatoes and something green..and you have a great meal! Enjoy!

Does anyone have any recipes suggestions for buttermilk?

 

 

One Response to “Chicken Fried Steak”


Leave a Reply

