Peaches and Pumpkin

Enjoying the sweet and sour in life.

Sweet and Sour Chicken with Fried Rice May 1, 2013


Hey everyone!  I know it has been close to a year since my last post..and I am hoping to start things up again, and post regularly!

 

 

There has been so many changes in the last year. We have lost a dear grandmother, who was a big supporter of my blog. After reading about a cheesecake failure, she surprised me with a perfect cheesecake pan! She will definitely be missed in our lives.
mema and paige

On another sad note: our dog, Tank, went missing. I posted about him last year, and what a wonderful addition to our family he was. He has been missing for a little over a month, and we would love for him to come home still! It’s hard to give up hope on something, and I still look for him everyday.
Tank

On a lighter note of course, Paige’s birthday is in less than a month…she will be three! I can’t believe it. And Colt is just about as big as her already. It’s hard to belive.

 

 

On to the recipe!! I found this one over at Life as a Lofthouse Food Blog. I’m in love with a lot of her recipes, and this is definitely a family favorite.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tbs. ketchup
  • 1 tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and heat 1/4 cup of oil in a skillet over medium. Rinse chicken, and cut into cubes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

2.  Dredge in the cornstarch, then dip into the beaten eggs. Fry for a couple of minutes, or right before it is done. Set in a 8×8 cooking dish.

3.  Mix together vinegar, sugar, ketchup, soy sauce and garlic powder with a whisk.

4.  Pour over cooked chicken in baking dish. Bake for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

 

 

This recipe is perfect with fried rice! I’m going to try to stay on top of things here, and keep updating with more recipes!

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read my blog!

 

2 Responses to “Sweet and Sour Chicken with Fried Rice”

  1. Lori Says:

    Welcome back! 🙂 I alqays love your revipes! I have been neglecting my blog for the past year too and just started posting again this week! Hopefully life will settle down & we can both start blogging again! Sorry to hear about your Grandmother – I am sure that has made things difficult 😦
    I hope Tank comes home soon!


Leave a Reply

